Become a Lifeguard

Photo of LifeguardsLifeguards provide first aid service and supervision of pool programming at the Ponoka Aquaplex

To become a certified lifeguard there is a four-step program:

  1. Standard First Aid and CPR-C

    Standard First Aid and CPR-C courses provide comprehensive training covering all aspects of first aid and CPR-C. Both of these courses may be offered with Bronze Medallion training.
  2. Bronze Medallion

    In the Bronze Medallion course, candidates acquire the assessment and problem-solving skills needed to make good decisions in, on, and around water. Bronze Medallion focuses on the four components of water rescue: judgment, knowledge, skills, and fitness. Pre-requisites: 13 years old and Standard First Aid/CPR-C.

  3. Bronze Cross

    Bronze Cross begins with candidates strengthening and expanding their lifesaving skills. In this course, candidates learn the importance of teamwork and communication in preventing and responding to aquatic emergencies.

    Pre-requisites: Bronze Medallion and Standard First Aid/CPR-C.

  4. National Lifeguard

    Through the National Lifeguard course, candidates will develop an understanding of lifeguarding principles, good judgment, and a mature and responsible attitude toward the role of a lifeguard.

    Pre-requisites: Minimum 16 years of age, Bronze Cross, Standard First Aid/CPR-C.

To register for any of the above courses, please visit the Lifesaving Society website by clicking here

For more information, please contact the Ponoka Aquaplex at 403-783-0131 or email

How to Apply to Become a Lifeguard

Please click here to apply and view lifeguard job openings.